Eating Out Harrogate

Reviews

Featured Listing

ASK Harrogate: The Mumbler Review

Mumbler were thrilled to be invited to ASK Harrogate to help them celebrate their #myaskitalianfamily campaign, along with a group of Harrogate’s most prominent bloggers. It’s pretty unusual for bloggers to be able to get together, we’re usually all so busy squirrelling away behind our laptops! It was really lovely to get out and about with our families and have the opportunity to chat to each other in “real life”. The bloggers were: The Harrogate Girl, Momma Up North, North & Soul, Harrogate Mama, Feather & Flock, The Greedy Sisters and from a little further afield York on a Fork.

The ASK campaign is all about bringing families together for meals and as a busy family, we fail at this much of the time! It is really important to me though, so any opportunity for a meal out with friends and family and a gaggle of kids is very welcome!

Our meal at ASK was at 5pm on a Friday evening and as you would imagine, there were already quite a few families in there. It’s a well known restaurant chain and has never yet failed to impress the whole family. This time I was visiting as a party of 7. The kids vastly out numbered us. With Mr Mumbler working away, I’d gone with a friend, between the two of us mums we had… a 9 year old, a 6 year old, a 5 year old, a 4 year old and a 5 month old baby. I know, what were we thinking right!?

The staff were attentive and made a real fuss of the children and they didn’t bat an eyelid when the inevitable first full cup of juice went flying. Or the second for that matter. Starters were served quickly, the kids had ordered off the £6.95 (Prices correct Apr 2018) menu and their starters were “Vegetable sticks with bread soldiers and dip” For the adults it was a delicious mixed Antipasto sharing platter with breads, cured meats, cheeses and dips.

Thankfully (when you’ve got this many kids in tow) the main courses followed fairly swiftly after the starters and once again the food didn’t disappoint. The children had ordered a selection of pizzas and pastas from the kids menu. All were really tasty and the potions were generous. The two eldest kids (9 & 6 years) managed to finish their pizzas but the youngest two (5 and 4 years) didn’t stand a chance!

During the meal, our youngest guest- a 5 month old was getting fretful and had clearly had enough of meals out! She was beyond tired and so my friend made the decision to take her out for a run around in the car (to get her to sleep) while I stayed with the rest of the gang to finish our dinner. The staff helped us out by quickly boxing up my friend’s dinner so that she could enjoy it later on at home.

Meanwhile, the kids and I really enjoyed our main courses. Mine was a MASSIVE calzone. And then my daughters opted for a dessert off the main menu (Chocolate Etna). Had they not been so la-di-da, they could have had “Tip & Top Ice-cream” (which sounds like a make your own sundae with toppings) fruit ice-lolly, fruitti or Chocolate pizza from the children’s set menu, followed by a babyccino, all of which would have been included with the £6.95 menu.

The only minor criticism that I’d have of the place is the wooden highchairs. They’re fine if your baby is over about 7-9 months old and can sit up unsupported, but for tiddlers, they’re pretty useless. If you’re taking a young baby then take some blankets or muslins to pad out the highchair.

All in all it was a great meal out, perfect for families and if you hunt around on the internet or join the ASK mailing list, then there is usually a voucher code doing the rounds.

Please note: Dinner at ASK was kindly provided complementary (I know, tough job but someone’s got to do it!) However, no amount of Pizza would ever be enough for us to write a dishonest review, therefore reviews contain our honest views and opinions and always will.


Featured Listing

Baltzersens, Oxford Street

Clean baby change downstairs. Good coffee & yummy cakes!

We want to give a shout out to this cafe in Harrogate it’s gorgeous inside – Scandinavian inspired with delicious cakes and coffee, and super baby friendly with a snug in the back…It has 3 steps into but the nice waiting staff will help you in, then once in its massive and suitable for the pushchair

The cinnamon buns are to die for and the mini mumblers just love the waffles. Paul the owner is a local dad and he knows instinctively how to make parents and families feel completely welcome in Balzersens. He is forward-thinking and always supports other local independent businesses. You can follow his great website blog here: baltzersens.co.uk/news/

Baltzersens Ltd, 22 Oxford Street, Harrogate, HG1 1PU


Featured Listing

Burgers and More. The Mumbler Review

The mini Mumblers really love a burger and they had heard rumour that there is a place in town where you can get a burger in a donut, with a side of custard (to dip your chips in of course!)

Resistance was futile, and so we made a date to try out “Burgers & More” which is an independent restaurant below the Kimberly Hotel on Kings Road.  We went on a Sunday tea time, and whilst it was fairly busy, we hadn’t booked and they managed to fit us in straight away.

The interior is great, it’s below ground but it’s bright and welcoming. There is a good mix of seating and it looked like it would cope with large bookings with ease.

The menu is extensive to say the least!

The kids both ended up choosing off the kids menu  (which had a  great selection- Chicken Goujons, Fish & chips (from Ramus), “Monster Burger” (with unicorn bread!)  Chicken Burger, Southern Fried Chicken, Pasta, Calzone & Pizza, all priced at £5.95 (Oct 2017)

They both chose the monster burgers and were absolutely thrilled with the amazing unicorn bread.

The adult menu is where the magic really happens… The donut burger is actually called the “Trump Burger” (Described in the menu as “that daft it might actually work”) There were 22 different burgers on the regular menu plus 4 specials. Not only could you order them individually, you can choose a few of your favourites and get them in a “tower” which is 2, 3, 4 or 5 burgers in a stack.

As well as the burgers, there is of course the “& More” side of the menu. To be honest I didn’t even bother looking at that. (Why would you? The Burgers are awesome!) If you do want to now about what’s on the rest of the menu, you can see them on the Burgers and More website here

Anyway, back to the Burgers, I chose a special called “Burger Wellington” which was basically beef wellington (garlic mushrooms, pastry and all) but with a burger instead of steak. It was delicious! My husband chose “Jack the Lad” which was a special impregnated with more than a dash of Jack Daniels. He assured me that it was really good although he had wolfed it down before I had the chance to try it myself!

For desert, the kids both chose the sundae which was fantastic value at £2.45 for a massive helping of Vanillis ice-cream with cream, sauce and wafers.

I was extremely impressed with Burgers & More. The staff were really friendly and the food was fantastic. It’s a real gem, an independent family friendly restaurant and I would urge you to get down there to try it for yourself.

Note- I wasn’t invited to review Burgers & More, nor did I receive any free food! I just visited with my family and was really impressed.

If any of you are interested in the Burgers & More food challenge, you can see the competitive eating legend Adam Moran, “Beard Meats Food” demolishing the 100oz twin burger challenge at Burgers & More here.


Featured Listing

Clocktower at Rudding Park

When Rudding Park invited the Harrogate Mumbler brood to dine in their Clocktower restaurant I’ll admit that I was apprehensive; I’d never eaten there myself but plenty of my friends have. They told me how lovely it is and what a fantastic place it is for a romantic meal for two or to get together with friends. Not a single one said that they had taken their children there. In fact when I mentioned that I would be reviewing it for Mumbler, without exception they said that it was a shame as I’d have a much nicer time without the little ones in tow.

Well friends, how wrong you were!

If I’m truthful I was actually feeling dread at the prospect of taking a “spirited” (and very prone to tantruming) two-year old and her five year old sister to the Uk’s No 1 hotel. I’d had visions of them terrorising business lunches and generally causing a nuisance in such a smart restaurant. The reality couldn’t have been further from the truth.

We were warmly welcomed by the Restaurant Manager and as it was such a beautiful and warm day we decided to sit outside on the huge terrace. There were outdoor games available such as quoits, Jenga and a football, but most importantly a vast open area of garden for the children to safely explore.

     

The waiting staff were incredibly attentive without being overbearing and they provided my two girls with activity bags and crayons to keep them busy. They served the children’s drinks in plastic cups without being asked- one less thing for me to worry about!

The children had their own extensive menu to choose from- both my girls elected to try the “make your own pizza’s” which I thought was great value at £5. The waitress brought out the pizza ingredients (along with chefs hats!) for the girls to assemble and then took them away to be cooked. I chose a few plates from the “Yorkshire Tapas” menu (Honey and Mustard drizzled Sausages, Yorkshire Feta and a Voakes Pork Pie) and was thoroughly impressed by the taste and quality.

          

The children’s desserts were well priced at around £2.50. I would have liked to try a few of the delicious sounding options such as banana split, waffles and ice-cream and donuts, however both my daughters wanted the fruit cocktail with chocolate dipping sauce. The portion sizes were very generous and both girls were served a beautiful looking dish of seasonal fruit and berries to dip inside a lovely rich chocolate sauce.

To finish off my daughters were given a Dottychino (a warm foamy-milk drink topped with a dusting of cocoa) and some lovely little Dotty the ladybird shaped petit-fours (Dotty is Rudding’s family mascot)

My girls both loved their experience at Rudding, but critically so did I! I cannot remember the last time that I was able to have a such a relaxing lunch out with young children and the opportunity to enjoy a two and a half hour meal (with desert and coffee!) whilst the children were happy and entertained. I did not want to leave and now I can’t wait to go back!

Next time I will take some of my friends with their children and we can enjoy the gorgeous surroundings and food all together.

Disclosure: Rudding Park did provide us with a free lunch for the purposes of this review. The opinion I’ve expressed here is my own.


Featured Listing

Eating out with kids review: Le Bistrot Pierre

IMG_1194

The Mumbler team were invited along to Le Bistrot Pierre in Harrogate town centre as they have recently launched a new children’s menu and accompanying activity pack.

It has been around 4 years since I last visited the place and despite enjoying a really pleasant evening then, it’s not somewhere that I would have immediately thought of taking the children to. This recent visit has changed my mind entirely as they are very welcoming to families and the restaurant has a lovely atmosphere.

The steps up to the front door might at first glance put off pram users, however if you can make it up the stairs, there is plenty of space in the bar area to store prams and the staff are very friendly to children and babies.

As we visited just before Christmas, all the tables were laid out with crackers which were a huge hit with my children and they were each given one of the lovely activity bags on arrival. The bags contained a beautifully illustrated book (which doubled up as a “menu enfants”) and a set of colouring pencils.

The book has a French theme (with one of the activities being ‘Oú est Pierre?’) and has been designed by established artist and mum of two, Julia Whitehead and has an excellent balance of education and entertainment to keep children engaged. With 14 pages of activities to fill in (Noughts and crosses, code cracking, word searches, colouring in etc) it’s one of the best I’ve seen. The activity books kept the two seven year olds thoroughly entertained and there was plenty in there to keep my four year old from wrecking the place!

IMG_1293 IMG_1295 IMG_1296 IMG_1294

The “Menu Enfants” is very well priced at £6.50 for a meal, desert and drink and my mini guests choose macaroni and cheese and a burger. Both were served quickly and were devoured in no time. For desert they chose a delicious raspberry sundae, chocolate torte and chocolate ice-cream. The staff were good enough to put candles in my daughters ice-cream as we were celebrating her 7th birthday and even went to the trouble of writing a birthday message in raspberry sauce!

IMG_1284 IMG_1297 IMG_1298 IMG_1299

During the course of the meal one of my children (somewhat inevitably!) sent a drink flying, however the waiter quickly cleaned it up for us with minimal fuss and we weren’t made to feel bad about it. As anyone who dines out with children will understand; this sort of thing does happen and the way that the restaurant deals with it really does make a difference.

We thoroughly enjoyed our meal out at Le Bistrot Pierre and will be returning soon!

You can find out more here http://lebistrotpierre.co.uk/locations/harrogate

Disclosure: Le Bistrot Pierre did provide us with a free meal for the purposes of this review. The opinion I’ve expressed here is my own.


Featured Listing

Las Iguanas Mumbler Review

Screen Shot 2016-04-23 at 20.53.22Mumbler was delighted to hear that Las Iguanas was opening in Harrogate as we’re huge fans of Mexican food and always like to try out something new. We were invited in just 10 days after opening, and other than the smell of fresh paint, it kind of already feels like it’s been around for ages. The bright colourful decor and furniture really suits the place and the open, light restaurant is really appealing to families.

We were there on a Saturday just before 6pm and the restaurant was already full. I’d recommend booking ahead whenever possible so that your little ones aren’t disappointed if they can’t squeeze you in.

IMG_2003Las Iguanas is very much set up for families, there were plenty of wooden highchairs available and the kids menu doubles up as an activity sheet. The waitress quickly brought over a cup of crayons so that my two daughters would be kept occupied.

The music and the restaurant size mean that it is quite a buzzy, noisy environment which I really quite like; it means that you don’t have to be constantly shush-ing the kids. As a family we were made to feel very welcome and with typical latin spirit, the waitress that served us was great with the kids, making a fuss of them and chatting to them when she passed by.

IMG_2004IMG_1999Las Iguanas has a specific “Ninos” menu for children under 12 years and is priced at £5.90 (April 2016) for a main course, dessert and a drink which I thought represented excellent value for money. My daughters choose a cheese burger and a pizza (not exactly embracing the Mexican vibe!). There were also pasta, cod and chicken options as well as tacos and quesadilla’s for children with marginally more sophisticated palates than mine!

As well as the main adults menu (which has pretty much every Mexican and latin you could desire) there is an Early Evening menu served up until 6.30pm which is great for when you’re eating out with younger children. The main courses on this menu are priced from just £6.00-£7.95 and even your first drink of wine, beer or soft drink is priced lower during the early evening menu times.

IMG_2010Children aren’t restricted to the standard menu either, the menu states that they offer half sized (and priced) options of many of the favourite grown-up options. As well as that, the restaurant offers free baby food and will warm up bottles which is always great to know.

 

 

 

You can visit their website and read the full menu here

Las Iguanas is situated at 1 John Street, Harrogate, HG1 1JZ

T 01423 566 333
harrogate@iguanas.co.uk

Disclosure: Las Iguanas did provide us with a free meal for the purposes of this review. The opinion I’ve expressed here is my own.

 


Featured Listing

Mrs Smiths Cafe

So, I can only apologise that it has taken me a year to get down to visit Mrs Smiths Cafe in Jennyfields, what a cool place!

The Mumbler clan were lucky enough to be invited down to their special “Harry Potter” afternoon tea craft session in October 2017 which was run in conjunction with The Creation Station Harrogate.  I wasn’t sure exactly what to expect, but we were treated to an absolutely fantastic afternoon of crafting followed by the most delicious array of Harry Potter themed food.

The cafe itself is easy to find, located right next to the co-op in Jennyfields with plenty of parking. It’s a nice light bright space and is obviously extremely welcome to families. There was a dedicated toy area, where littles ones can play and I was seriously impressed with some of the personal touches, such as serving kids drinks in small lidded bottles with straws. Such a simple touch but one that makes the prospect of taking hurricane toddlers out in public a little bit more bearable.

Both Mrs Smith (also known as Phillipa) and Mr Smith (also known as Harry Potter!) were working during the Harry Potter afternoon tea and spent the whole time, looking after their guests and ensuring that everyone had a lovely time.

The crafting session was led by Sharon from the Creation Station. Upon arrival each child found a letter from “Hogwarts” welcoming them to the school and telling them the list of things that they should bring. The session then focused around making all of the items on the list.

It was such fun! I won’t tell you exactly what we made as I don’t want to give it all away in case they run sessions again in the future however I will say that there were was a quiz, gluing, clay modelling, potion making and lots and lots of glitter!

After the crafting then we were treated to a heaving selection of delicious savoury and sweet treats. The attention to detail was superb, the golden snitch truffles being a prime example along with the chocolate sorting hat cupcakes (Each one with a coloured Smartie inside to tell you which house you were being sorted into. I’m a Ravenclaw FYI!)

 

We all had an absolutely wonderful afternoon and I can’t recommend both Mrs Smiths Cafe and the Creation Station Harrogate highly enough. Both ladies clearly love what they do, and their enthusiasm and understanding of the local family market really shines.

Disclosure: Mumbler was invited to attend the Harry Potter afternoon tea for free however this was not in return for any blogging or review services. I have written this review because I was so genuinely impressed with the event. 


Featured Listing

Mumbler reviews…. Revolution De Cuba

I was a bit dubious when Revolution De Cuba invited us for a family lunch as I’d always associated the place with boozy cocktails and dancing into the early hours. But how wrong was I – it turns out in the daytime it’s a really family friendly restaurant! Baby changing facilities, room for buggies and a great children’s menu – Revolution De Cuba has it all!

The first big tick is how accessible the place is! We arrived, with a pretty big buggy and a sleeping toddler and we didn’t have a single step to deal with! The place is so spacious we had no problem in manoeuvring the buggy about. There was plenty of space around the table for our buggy, a high chair and the million shopping bags we had with us. I noticed there were a few other families with buggies dining, and all had plenty of space. It was a bank holiday weekend lunchtime too – so the place was pretty packed. Its nice to go to a restaurant where they haven’t tried to fit in as many tables as possible. The extra space certainly made us feel more relaxed – even when our toddler decided to make an escape from the high chair we didn’t feel like she was disturbing any of the other diners.

We were seated at our table, given the adult and children’s menu along with an activity pack – including crayons and bubbles to keep our daughter amused. You also get a small cup of nachos to keep you going whilst you peruse the menu. Service was excellent – our waiter was Sam and he was fab – talking us through the menu and giving his recommendations. We opted for 3 tapas dishes for us adults to share as a starter – my favourite being the chorizo croquettes! My husband went for the Cuban Cheeseburger and I went for the Sunshine Salad for mains. All got the thumbs up from us! The children’s menu was £5.95 for a main, dessert and a drink. We chose the homemade chicken goujons with sweet potato fries and salad for my daughter. The portion sizes for both adult and children were just right. I also LOVED the fact they had children’s cutlery. More often then not when we dine out we usually have to deal with my 2-year-old wielding cutlery bigger than her!

Her drink – a choice of fizzy drinks or juices – came in a plastic pineapple – she loved it, and so did we. It was knocked over a few times and there were no spillages! Desserts were ice cream for the little one and chocolate cake and Churros for Mum and Dad. Wowzer – those Churros were gorgeous – and a really generous portion!

All in all, we had a fab time here, the staff were great and the food delicious – a great family friendly restaurant we’ll be sure to frequent again! Check out their Facebook page for special offers – they usually run promotions over school holidays – kids eat free etc. On last Thursday of every month they also host Boomchikkboom parties – basically parties (discos, bubbles, messy play etc.) for babies and toddler. Turns out partying at Revolution De Cuba isn’t just for the adults!

Reviewed August 2018

Disclosure: Mumbler was lucky enough to receive this lunch for free however we pinky promised to only write a truthful account of our meal. Phew, we really enjoyed it! (otherwise that could have been awks!)


Featured Listing

The George at Wormald Green – MUMbler Review

MUMbler were invited to try out the George Carvery so I decided to give it a go on Sunday 12th March with my hubby and little boy. I had always driven past and wondered what it was like! I had also seen lots of people recommending it on Facebook so there was no reason not to try it out.

We pulled up and the car park was busy but there were plenty of spaces so it was lovely and easy to park. On arrival, it was busy inside but it’s actually a lot bigger than I thought so there was space available for us to sit down straight away. Having never been before we sat down and checked out the carvery price card which also explained that we needed to go through to the bar to purchase our carvery tickets and drinks. The staff were very friendly and helpful, and also explained the process to us. Highchairs were available and they also provided my little boy with colouring pencils and a Peppa Pig colouring sheet to keep him entertained.

Getting the tickets was quick and easy and as we had our 19 month old little boy with us we decided to get his first as he can get a bit fidgety in his highchair if he doesn’t have food to distract him!

I joined the queue and let him point to what he wanted. The selection of food was great – there were 3 meats on offer: Turkey, Gammon and Beef. We opted for turkey for the little one and of course a large homemade Yorkshire pudding plus all the trimmings. Gravy was available to add as much or as little to our plates as we wanted (which is great because we are a gravy loving family!)

Finlay loved his and ate more than I thought he would, particularly as he has been a bit fussy with food recently. His favourite thing by far was the Yorkshire pudding!

We got our own plates and (in the interests of the review of course!) I had a bit of each meat. My hubby had the gammon and turkey. All in all, we were really impressed with the quality of the food. Sometimes carveries get a bad reputation as the food can get cold but it was lovely and warm and the meat was really tender. The sides were good too, offering peas and green beans, broccoli and honey roasted carrots and parsnips, stuffing, as well as mash and roasties of course!

There were plenty of sauces available for the side too, such as cranberry and apple, mustard etc.

One thing I noticed which is really helpful is that they have plastic cutlery available for the children. We had brought some in anticipation but hadn’t managed to pick up a fork from home, so it was great to find some there for us already.

Once we had finished our meal (there was no room for dessert unfortunately even though they sounded lovely!), we headed outside to the beer garden. This was great for Finlay as he could run around and there was a small play area with a slide which he loved! An added bonus was the kitchen washed up Finlay’s plate and cutlery we had brought with us.

There are baby changing facilities and when the weather isn’t so lovely, an air hockey table and table football in the bar area to keep the older kids amused.

We went at the peak of Sunday lunchtime and it was really busy. The carvery queue got quite long atone point but was dealt with quickly and did die down. We were sat quite near to the queue which was a bit inconvenient when there was a long queue so I would advise sitting in the main part of the restaurant or by the front entrance. The staff were all friendly and fresh food was coming out the kitchen regularly so there was always plenty available.

Overall, it is a great place for families as there is no waiting (Finlay is not very patient so long waits for food are a big no no for us!), you can have as much or as little as you want (as long as it will fit on the plate!), and the facilities for children are great.

Carveries at the George are available all week and the best part is kids (under 12) eat free with a paying adult from Monday to Saturday! Adults are £9.95 Mon-Sat and £10.95 on Sundays and kids are usually £5.95 so it’s a nice saving if you go during the week or on a Saturday.

Disclosure: The George did provide us with a free lunch for the purposes of this review. The opinion I’ve expressed here is my own.

 

 


Featured Listing

The Park Restaurant

The Park Restaurant, is a cheap, child friendly, hidden gem, attached to the Premier Inn hotel at Hormbeam Park.

The ParkLike many I expect, I’ve driven past many times and never really taken much notice of it, well I will now and so should you. Harrogate Mumbler were recently given the opportunity to trial the restaurant and give our feedback to the Mumbler community, and to be honest we were pleasantly surprised.

From the moment you walk in you are greeted with big smiles and a warm welcome whilst being taken to your seats. The restaurant indoors is designed with secluded, but spacious nooks and crannies, ideal for children and families, even when full there’s still an element of privacy. As parents we all know it can be challenging sometimes to keep young children quiet and entertained at the dinner table, but the layout means you are not disturbing other guests whilst your “darlings” decides to have a meltdown.

The restaurant gives out free activity books and crayons to the little ones once seated and there is free wifi for all (accessible without a password) to help save on data charges.

If you choose, there are a considerable number of tables outside for the warmer, summer months if you fancy a bit of alfresco dining or if you happen to wander across the restaurant with your dog.

Adding to the surprises, another thing which caught my eye was the separate baby changing room, not in the usual women’s toilet! Giving Mummies the perfect opportunity to sit back and relax whilst letting Daddy do the changing.
Plenty of high chairs are available as well for larger groups of mummies looking for a food venue to meet up and chat.

So what about the food?

The Park is full of amazingly cheap offers, so dependent upon the day and time you’re eating, depends on what you pay.

Children’s Menus

There are 2 separate children’s menus. The junior size for larger appetites and the main children’s menu. Children’s food can be brought out first if required, instead of altogether. My 4-year-old ordered from the main children’s menu which costs £3.99, after 5pm. This includes either a starter or dessert as well as the main course. If you eat before 5pm it’s an unbelievable £1.99. Yes that’s correct! £1.99 for 2 courses. We ordered this deal just to see how it was possible to provide a 2 course meal for so little, if I’m honest I wasn’t exactly expecting much. Wow is all I can say!

Kids mainThere is something to tempt literally any child’s appetite. The usual sausages, chicken, fish, but then spaghetti Bolognese, various other pasta dishes, build your own pizza, burger, hot dog the list goes on and in addition to this 2 sides out of the 13 are included in the main dish price.

At these prices I expected 1 sausage and a few beans so had to take pictures to show  just how much there was……..

kids dessertThe food was freshly made, all well presented as well as piping hot. We ordered 3 courses which included a garlic bread starter and had a fruit shoot too so the total cost was £6.23. The exact same 3 courses and drink before 5pm would have been just £4.23.

The junior menu is for much larger appetites and costs £4.99 for the main course. Meals include steak, curry, fish and chips, scampi and chips etc and the portions are considerably bigger. Starters and desserts cost a little extra with this menu and I’d personally recommend this for older children, 10yr olds plus

Adult Menu

During the week there are many eating options, a £4.99 menu for adults before 5pm and 2 courses after 6pm for £10.99.  It was an extremely varied table menu and certainly something for everyone’s taste. Gourmet  burgers, fabulous fish, hearty pies, great grills including steaks etc to your much more exotic wasabi king prawns and chicken makhani curry amongst others. Food was generously portioned and arrived very promptly. The pudding was huge, far too much for myself, so we had extra spoons so 3 of us could enjoy it.

What I particularly like is the free breakfast for children under 15 when an adult pays full price at £8.99. There is also a free Sunday lunch for Mummies after 2pm for every paying adult so I’m definitely trying out that offer soon.
Very well stocked bar with a collection of real ales and various wines as well as a large collection of soft drinks. I particularly enjoyed the real costa coffee cappuccino.

I would definitely advise to sign up to their table table loyalty card scheme which offers free meals, birthday treats and a point scheme.

So all in all, the various discount offers and cheap prices, the loyalty card, good food, prompt service, friendly staff does makes The Park a great visit throughout the day whether for breakfast, lunch or an evening meal.

All the menus are available online, along with The Parks very easy to use table booking service. www.tabletable.co.uk

Disclosure: The Park did provide us with a free meal for the purposes of this review. The opinion I’ve expressed here is my own.


Featured Listing

Tilly Peppers on Cold Bath Road

Tilly Peppers on Cold Bath Road is a big favourite with us at Harrogate Mumbler.   There isn’t a play area as such – but there’s a big sofa with lots of toys and plenty of books.

My daughter happily sits on the sofa reading (you guessed it) a Peppa Pig book whilst hubby and me tucked into some delicious millionaire shortbread!

It has a really nice laid-back feel to the place and the staff are super friendly.

There is a selection of food available throughout the day from breakfast right through until dinner. The venue is also available for private hire.

Follow them on Facebook here

Tilly Peppers 49 Cold Bath Rd, Harrogate HG2 0NL


Featured Listing

Welcome Back Old Friend, You’ve Been Missed! Pizza Express Returns To Harrogate

Since the fire last March that gutted a large section of Albert Street forced the closure of Pizza Express in Harrogate there has been a large “Dough Ball” shaped hole in my daughters life. She is six years old and I think it is fair to say that she is Pizza Express’ number one fan!

Understandably she was absolutely delighted to be invited in to the brand new restaurant which re-opened earlier this month. We visited on a busy Sunday tea time at 5pm, and whilst the place was pretty full, the new décor and dividing wall in the middle of the restaurant somehow seem to make the place feel much more relaxed and a lot less noisy then it used to.

It feels lovely and modern, slightly cosier than it was before. The doors have changed (no more awkward revolving door; an absolute menace to toddlers fingers and pushchair users alike) The lights, chairs, dark mirrored walls and layout are all new and very smart, but equally it is unmistakably and reassuringly familiar as Pizza Express.

The staff that we encountered were all polite, efficient and well-used to dealing with children. My daughters (6 and 3 years) were served their drinks quickly (and in plastic glasses with straws without me having to ask) and were given their menu’s and coloured pencils straight away (the menus double up as activity books). The waiter also had the foresight to quickly whip away the surplus glass tumblers and wine glasses from the table. This may sound like such a minor detail, but the parent of any pre-schooler will know that if you leave them on the table then you may as well get the dustpan and brush out because it’s only a matter of time!

Both of my daughters chose from the “Piccolo” menu, which for 3 courses and a Bambinoccio is £6.50, I think is excellent value for money. The menu consists of dough balls for starters, then either a pasta or pizza main course with either ice-cream sundae or a chocolate brownie dessert.

Despite it being a busy Sunday, there was barely any wait for the food and the starters were quickly followed by our mains. My husband chose an old classic, the Fiorentina pizza and I chose one of the new dishes, The Calzone. Both were utterly delicious and were soon demolished!

Once the children had finished their pizzas, our waiter was on-hand to offer their deserts. As ever, my daughters were delighted when their Bambinoccino’s arrived (A Bambinoccino is a small “grown-up” cup of warm frothy milk with a sprinkling of chocolate powder on top)

One of the best things about Pizza Express is that they understand that when you’ve got young children, when you are done and dusted with the meal, you just want to get out of there quickly. With pre-schoolers there is no lazy lingering over coffee, once they’re finished they’re bored and if you hang around too long, that is when the major destruction begins! Our waiter knew the score and was quick to get our table cleared and allowed us a speedy exit.

My whole family is delighted that Pizza Express has re-opened and I’m sure that it wont be long before we return!

Disclosure: Pizza Express did provide us with a free meal for the purposes of this review. The opinion I’ve expressed here is my own.

 


Brio, Kings Road Harrogate

I only recently discovered this great restaurant. It is really open and spacious inside, and although I think I had failed to go in before due to it’s location; I guess that you’d never just be ‘passing’ unless you were at a conference, I’m so glad that I have now made it inside!

The food is really good quality Italian. Tasty, reasonably priced and generous portions. In true Italian spirit, they are very welcoming to children and have plenty of highchairs and a great children’s menu.

For £6.50 the children can have a main course (pizzas, pastas, chicken or fish goujons or grilled chicken) ice-cream or chocolate fudge cake and a glass of squash.

Best of all, on a Saturday lunchtime, Saturday evening 5.30-6.30 and all day Sunday the children eat for free! Fantastico!


Damn Yankee, Station Parade.

A family favourite in the Mumbler household! This American themed restaurant is extremely family friendly and the food is delicious . Children get given a goody bag on arrival with an assortment of crayons, stickers and activities inside. The burgers here are the best in town and if you can’t face a meal out with little ones I can highly recommend ordering from their takeaway menu.


Graveley’s Fish & Chips Restaurant

“What a great place to take the little ones Graveleys Fish & Chips restaurant is! I have never been before and took my 2 children for tea tonight – nice kids menu, the staff were fab; going out of their way to make them smile and were totally fine when both my girls were running around like a pair of loonies! …..and lovely fish, chips and cuppa too! Well done Graveleys!”