The Mumbler Reviews Harrogate

Holidays

Featured Listing

Forest Holidays Cropton

Situated in a glorious woodland meadow, deep in the heart of Cropton Forest, Forest Holidays’ luxury self-catering cabins with private hot tubs make an ideal base for adventures, exploring or simply relaxing. The North York Moors are on your cabin doorstep and the coast is only half an hour’s drive away. The forest itself is a paradise for nature lovers and thrill seekers alike, while open-plan cabins provide the perfect family accommodation.

Offering simple luxury in a picturesque location, the majority of cabins come complete with private hot tubs on the decking, ready to hop into whatever the weather, day or night. And pet-friendly options mean you can bring the dog too!

Special Discount Offer for MUMBLER

Book now with code MUMBLERJAN19 to save 10% on breaks during January, February and March. (Book by 28 February 2019) or enjoy a year-round 5% discount using promocode MUMBLER19*. Don’t delay, visit www.forestholidays.co.uk or call 03330 110495 and quote the code.

*Discount can be taken at any time of the year including school holidays and Bank holidays, and applies to all cabin types. This discount applies to the cabin price only and not any extras. May not be used in conjunction with any offer and cannot be applied retrospectively. Forest Holidays reserves the right to withdraw this offer at any time.

For more information, please read the blog here.

Cropton Forest Nr Pickering, YO18 8ES
For pre-travel enquiries and bookings call: 03330 110 495

(Cropton Forest is located approximately 55 miles North East of Harrogate in the North Yorkshire Moors National Park)


Featured Listing

Forest Holidays Keldy

Follow the forest road as it drops deep into the wooded valley; feel the calm of the forest wrap itself around you, and listen… silence. This is Keldy, on the edge of the North York Moors National Park. If ever there was a place to feel that special magic of the forest, it is here, a paradise of sunlit glades, tumbling crystal clear brooks and shy woodland creatures.

Forest Holidays’ Keldy cabins blend delightfully into their woodland surroundings, some hidden beneath the trees and others opening out onto soft grassy glades. Warm and welcoming, in an idyllic woodland setting, they provide a peaceful haven from the world outside. Children and teenagers will love lounging in your private  hot tub and once the little ones are in bed and the teenagers back indoors on their phones, pour a glass of Champagne and enjoy the hot tub to yourselves. And our pet friendly cabins mean you can bring your dog too!

Special Discount Offer for MUMBLER

Book now with code MUMBLERJAN19 to save 10% on breaks during January, February and March. (Book by 28 February 2019) or enjoy a year-round 5% discount using promocode MUMBLER19*. Don’t delay, visit www.forestholidays.co.uk or call 03330 110495 and quote the code.

*Discount can be taken at any time of the year including school holidays and Bank holidays, and applies to all cabin types. This discount applies to the cabin price only and not any extras. May not be used in conjunction with any offer and cannot be applied retrospectively. Forest Holidays reserves the right to withdraw this offer at any time.

For more information, please read the blog here.

Forest Holidays Keldy, Cawthorne, Pickering, YO18 8HW
For pre-travel enquiries and bookings call: 03330 110 495

(Keldy is located approximately 55 miles North East of Harrogate in the North Yorkshire Moors National Park)


Featured Listing

Pirates Village, Majorca. The Mumbler Review

The Pirates Village at Santa Ponsa, Mallorca is a fantastic family holiday destination and Mumbler would happily recommend it after visiting for a last minute family holiday in 2014 at October half term break. It’s totally set-up for families and Jet2 Holidays run flights (and whole package holidays) from Leeds Bradford airport which helps keep travel time to a minimum.

When we arrived at Palma Airport, we were expecting a long coach transfer time, however Santa Ponsa really isn’t that far from Palma. The extra time was to allow for multiple other drop off’s on the way. My daughters couldn’t believe their eyes when we arrived at the hotel though- the view from the road is AMAZING!

 

Pirates Village is a  3* hotel and it’s got a really big pool, it’s also a very easy walk to the beach. It’s not luxurious, but for a fairly reasonably priced holiday with young kids it is perfect, if they’re happy, I’m happy!

The rooms have a twin bedroom, a decent sized bathroom then a living room with 2 single sofabeds, a mini kitchen and balcony. The rooms are a bit basic and a touch dated but spotlessly clean so we weren’t bothered (note Jan 17, the pictures recently look like the bedrooms have been upgraded) The hotel was full when we were there (Oct/Nov half term) and so the all inclusive buffet could be a bit of a scrum but the staff were very friendly and the food was great. Yes, I did witness some hotel guests eating MOUNTAINS of chips and chicken nuggets at every meal however there was plenty of choice including delicious salads, fresh fish and traditional Majorcan dishes at each meal. It’s served as a help-your-self buffet which is great for ensuring that young kids don’t have to wait.

The pool was fab- a bit cold when we were there but that was November so we can’t really complain!

The evening entertainment started at 8/8.30pm which was just a bit late for my 2, but we would put them to bed and then we (adults) could sit on the balcony (as all the rooms overlook the pool and entertainment area) and watch the show, taking turns to nip down to the bar to collect the drinks. We had the all inclusive package and the quality of the wine and beer was fine- I was expecting it to be a bit ropey but was pleasantly surprised.

Majorca is beautiful too- we were only there 4 nights but I’d love to hire a car and go exploring next time. The resort is probably about 30km from Palma Airport.

Top tip- take pirates outfits for your kids! If not, there is a Chinese souvenir shop on the street parallel to the hotel which stocks Pirate stuff! “

Another Mumbler review….

“We went to pirates village in Majorca last year, pirate themed, all inclusive. entertainment, kids club and pool were fantastic, around pool is invaded by pirates twice a week, we have booked again for next year, jet2 fly there from Leeds Bradford and prices very reasonable. Without wanting to sound like a snob we have struggled to find a fab family hotel with all stuff the kids love that’s not tacky and rowdy.This is fab ” MS Oct 2013

Visit the Jet2 Holidays website here for more details and photos of Pirates Village.

 


Featured Listing

Want to try Glamping? Get to Humble Bee Farm!

Humble Bee Farm is a working farm ideally located for your glamping getaway in the beautiful Yorkshire Wolds, around 60 miles from Harrogate or about an hour and a half drive.

Our family-run farm includes three comfortable holiday cottages – two with outdoor hot tubs – Big Chief Wigwam® CabinsBell TentsNomadic Yurts, electric tourer and non-electric tent pitches. We also have four en-suite Running Water Deluxe Wigwam® Cabins each with it’s own wood-fired hot tub, TV, en-suite shower, toilet and kitchen area.

Humble Bee Farm is near Flixton, close to Scarborough, Filey, Bridlington, Whitby and the North York Moors National Park. Stay with us in this lovely part of Yorkshire. You can be as busy as bees exploring the area and return to our site to for relaxed, quality time with family or friends.

We have cows, sheep and crops in our fields, ensuring a superb holiday accommodation with the great outdoors! Collect an egg for breakfast, meet the farmyard gang. Walkers, cyclists and surfers are welcome. Child and dog friendly! We are a Low Noise Policy site so you can relax with us, down on the farm.

Click here to explore the Big Chief Wigwam® Cabin even more!

To book simply click this link or call our helpful staff on 01723 890437.

All details can be found on the Humble Bee Farm website and you can also follow them on facebook. 

 


Budle Bay Croft, Northumberland

Budle Bay Croft – 5-star luxury farm-stay holidays on a lovely coastal smallholding in Bamburgh, Northumberland. 2 cottages – Budle Falls and Budle Haugh

Owner Allison has been in touch with Mumbler to tell us about her incredibly family friendly cottages and to offer Mumblers a 5% discount when booking directly with her; allison.joynson@budlebaycroft.com

“Luxurious serenity with bags to do – gorgeous 5* self catering cottages on a magical coastal smallholding in the parish of Bamburgh on the Northumberland coast.Two cosy, comfortable, contemporary and romantic 2 bedroomed self catering cottages ideal for families, couples, dog lovers, groups of friends, parties, reunions, honeymoons, hen parties, birthday celebrations.Short breaks, weekends and weekly bookings, open all year round.

Very child friendly and family friendly – cots, highchairs, potties, bath toys, toys, outdoor toys, moses basket, travel cots with comfy mattresses, cot linen, step up stools, baby carriers, baby monitors, changing mats, high chairs and stair-gates provided free of charge. Several acres of grounds with play parks, farm animals, ride on toys and private gardens too.

Dog friendly too – acres of grounds to explore and run around, dog basket, bowls and doggie treats provided for our 5* pooch guests”

Find us on Facebook here


Burnsall

“Burnsall is a great spot but its popular so gets very busy You can pay about £5 to park in the field by the river where you can have a paddle and picnic. There’s a toilet block too. The pub across the road is nice too and you can walk along the river from there.” FW July ’13


Majorca, C’an picafort

The holiday village in c’an picafort it’s an exclusive Thomson hotel, it’s a family hotel, kids club, shows every night for all the family, kids pool with slides etc close to the beech and town, we would defo go back it was fab,


Crows nest Near Filey

“Another vote for crows nest, we have a caravan there. Great things around it playdale farm park, gorgeous farm shop with fab offers cafe and kids garden, Filey 5 mins away and Scarborough and Bridlington 15 mins, Filey country park is lovely, glen gardens, kids paddling pool, little fairground without being tacky! Oh gosh to much to say, we love crows nest and Filey! Also cayton bay, primrose valley, blue dolphin and flower of may are all close by but are alot bigger and more commercialised depends what your after but if you want a small family run site and want your kids to play out knowing there not going to go far crows nest is the one it also has an indoor pool which you can have to yourself quite often! ” NC Aug ’13

“I agree crows nest is really nice and lots of friendly people we went there a couple of weeks ago for a night to test our tent, my daughter didnt want to leave she loved the playground nice clean toilets/shower room and good fish and chips on site” HT Aug ’13

www.crowsnestcaravanpark.com


Euro Disney

Mumbler Reviews

“Have stayed in Sequoia Lodge and Hotel Cheyanne, both were nice but personally preferred Sequoia Lodge, it was quite a bit more money but had a lovely indoor pool and nice bar area. We have always flown with Jet 2 and then caught the local train from the airport which takes you right into the resort. We also book the flights separately from the hotel booking as it has always come out cheaper”

“Would recommend the Cheyenne- it’s one of the cheapest, but perfect for the amount of time you actually spend in the room! We traveled by Eurostar – it was really straight forward – would recommend buying the ‘half board’ food vouchers too- as it’s a lot more expensive when you are there! ”

“We have been to seqouia four times and love it. We are going again in the next holiday. Lovely and cosy feel to it. We have flown twice and gone on eurostar twice. Again this next time we are going on euro star. It takes u straight into the park. They take your luggage to the hotel too! You also get extra time on your departure day too as train does not go till 6.40ish. The plane is normally lunchtime so you get up and go. Depends what u want. I just love the eurostar and sequioa. If u stay in a disney hotel you also get magic hours before everyone else. Normally between 8-10 on a morning. I booked this trip last july and got a good deal. Upgraded the train for a small amount and upgraded the room too.”

 


Filey Beach

“Filey is great with a huge stretch of beach to stroll along. There is one arcade on the front at the north bay I think it is,with a fab cafe that do home made cakes & hot choc next door & fish & chips few shops up also!” SW March ’14

 


Haven Holidays

“Primrose valley was fantastic” HH

“Another vote for Primrose Valley. Has fantastic facilities for the kids. Ours love it. We go for a long weekend every year” CS

“Primrose Valley or Blue dolphin if you want a quietish site then Reighton Sands” AC

“We went to Reighton sands a couple of years ago was nice as is a quieter one but can go use the things at nearby parks. Driving distance of Filey Scarborough and Bridlington as well” MJ

“We have done haven and would recommend them reighton sands and Thorpe park both good and am currently looking at this years We did go out of school holidays though!” CM


Heathfield Caravan Park

“Heathfield Caravan Park at Pateley Bridge. Family and dog friendly with a beck just across the lane from the camping field. Also has family shower room” CH June 2013

Been camping this weekend to Heathfield Caravan Park in pately bridge. Would like to highly recommend it was a lovely site with very nice clean facilities and very reasonably priced. I’ve never been to a campsite with such clean toilets and showers. The lady who runs it is a mumbler too but can’t remember her name. LR Aug 2013


Hotels

All hotels listed have been recommended by mumblers and are (roughly) within an hour of Harrogate.

The Angel Inn – Hetton (Nr Skipton)- 01756 730263

a great place if you’re a foodie!

Black Swann – Helmsley – 01439 770466

The Black Swan – Oldstead – 01347 868387

Crab & Lobster – Thirsk – 01845 577286

They have themed rooms like different luxury hotels around the world. My mum went for her anniversary and loved it!

Hotel Du Vin – Harrogate – 08447 364257

Hotel Du Vin – York – 08447 489268

Mallyan Spout – Whitby – 01947 896 486

The Old Rectory – Nr Thirsk – 01845 501417

The Pipe & Glass Inn – Beverley – 01430 810246

The Star Inn – Harome (Nr Helmsley) – 01439 770397

Talbot Hotel – Malton – 01653 639096

Wensleydale Heifer – West Witton – 01969 622322

Themed rooms which include a chocolate room, film room, whisky room, heifer room, hot tub room etc etc. Food to die for. Well worth a look


Ilkley Lido

Ilkley Lido is a fantastic outdoor swimming and paddling pool, open May- September but please double-check with the Lido before going!

There is a cafe serving food, drinks and ice-creams. The opening times depend on the weather, its best to ring first to check the cafe is open if you are unsure. There are also vending machines.

You can take your own food & drink and there are picnic tables for you as well.

Ilkley Pool & Lido
Denton Road,
Ilkley,
LS29 0BZ.

Tel: 01943 600453

www.ilkleylido.co.uk


Majorca, Puerto pollensa

Puerto pollensa!!!! Loads of kids and it’s flat…long beach with shallow waters!!! Were going end of may I love it there


Majorca, Cala d’or

Ferrera Beach aparthotel near cala d’or. We went last year and loved it. Fab kids club and amazing all inc food. All staff so friendly too


Majorca, Cala Millor

We went to First Choice Holiday Village in Cala Millor this year and it was absolutely brilliant – went with my sister too so we had a 5 year old, 2 x 2.5s and a 1! And there was loads for all of them  entertainment was top notch and restaurants plenty to choose from!


Majorca, Pirate Village in Santa Ponsa

Check out pirate village in Santa Ponsa, we went this year and booked for next year too.. Mine are 2, 7 and 10 and they all loved it. Pirate themed hotel, pirate invasion
Around the pool twice a week, great kids clubs and entertainment day and night


Masons at Appletreewick

Masons at Appletreewick is great, right by the river with footpath too”. SA June 2013

“Another vote for masons” NM June 2013


Poultons Park and Peppa Pig World

Harrogate Mumbler visited in August 2013 and it was great. Unfortunately as it was the summer holidays the Peppa Pig bit was rammed. Having said, that there were bits within the Peppa Pig world that didn’t have massive queues (the water jet play park, the little houses where you can just see the figures and get your photo taken) so my girls still got a good look around.

The rest of Paultons park was much less busy and it was fantastic. The vast majority of the rides are for kids- only one or two have height limits (I seem to remember 1.1 and 1.2metres) so my kids could go on most stuff.

We were there for 2 days on a Poultons mini break and could have stayed longer. We loved it and will be back! Quite often they do a buy one day get one free.

Top tips- rent a double cart/buggy for the day. The park is massive and it really gave my 2 kids longevity. They loved jumping in the littl cart rather than a pushchair.

Take swim stuff and towels for the water jets bit (big one inside the main park, smaller one inside Peppa Pig world)


Saltburn Beach

“Saltburn is beautiful. You can walk for miles along the beach. Theres a small pier and also if you walk the other way theres a fish/chip shop. Over the roads a park as well. On the front of the pier theres a small ‘penny arcade’. . Have fun !” JM Mar ’14


Sleningford Watermil

“Sleningford Watermill at West Tanfield is great for kids and dogs”  SH June 2013


Spa Hotels

All Spa Hotels have been recommended by Mumblers and are (roughly) within an hour of Harrogate.

The Bridge Hotel & Spa – Wetherby – 01937 580 115

The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa – Bolton Abbey (Nr Skipton) – 01756 718111

Feversham Arms – Helmsley – 01439 770766

Feversham arms In Helmsley is amazing!!

Afternoon tea was absolutely gorgeous. Outside pool very warm. Good mid week prices.

Poolside suite absolutely beautiful, pool lovely, food lovely, really relaxing, went a few summers ago when weather really hot, air-conditioned room perfect!, can’t recommend highly enough!

Goldsborough Hall – Knaresborough – 01423 867321

Middlethorpe Hall & Spa – York – 01904 641241

Raithwaite Hall – Whitby – 01947 661661

Rockliffe Hall – Darlington – 01325 729999

amazing with fab spa

Rudding Park – Harrogate – 01423 871350

Amazing!!!

Seaham Hall – Seaham – 0191 5161400

Swinton Park – Masham – 01765 680900

Wood Hall Hotel – Wetherby – 0845 072 7564

lovely, and the spa is fab


Stockeld Park

Where magic is made and adventures begin.

Nestled in woodland within 30 minutes of Leeds, York & Harrogate.

The award winning Halloween and Christmas Adventure opens on 22nd October until 6th January, when visitors can experience our Enchanted Forest, fun-filled by day, illuminated at night.

Try Nordic Skiing, explore and interact in our Giant Yew Tree Maze and glide over the Real Ice Rink, against a beautiful Yorkshire countryside backdrop.

Website


The Cud Life, Killinghall

“We opened our little campsite in Killinghall last year www.thecudlife.co.uk and get LOADS of local families staying – one local family came 3 weekends running last year!! We have a campfire which we allow people to light on a Saturday night and this seems to be the biggest attraction.”

Check our our campsite and holiday cottages on: www.thecudlife.co.uk


Tintage, Cornwall

We  went to a lovely place in Cornwall, called Tintage. It’s where King Arthur was meant to have been born.

We rented a lovely cottage in walking distance of the tow and whilst there visited the Edan project. There were lovely walks and lots to see and do. It also wasn’t far from the zoo. BH Oct 2013


Whitby Beach

“Whitby! Good fish and chips and there are arcades too! Go to Hadleys if you go-best fish and chips!x
FP Mar ’14

“I will second Whitby. All you could want in a seaside town and still a little traditional town” EL Mar ’14

“We love Whitby…fun climbing steps to abbey and some fab sweet shops” LP MAr ’14

“We recently had a lovely family weekend in Whitby …. would highly recommend x LC Mar ’14


Wrea Head Cottages, Scarborough

“Wrea Head Cottages, Scarborough- lovely family friendly self catering cottages with a large communal indoor pool and children’s teddy bears picnic play house in the garden.” SS Oct 2014