The Mumbler Reviews Harrogate

Restaurant Reviews


The mini Mumblers really love a burger and they had heard rumour that there is a place in town where you can get a burger in a donut, with a side of custard (to dip your chips in of course!)

Resistance was futile, and so we made a date to try out “Burgers & More” which is an independent restaurant below the Kimberly Hotel on Kings Road.  We went on a Sunday tea time, and whilst it was fairly busy, we hadn’t booked and they managed to fit us in straight away.

The interior is great, it’s below ground but it’s bright and welcoming. There is a good mix of seating and it looked like it would cope with large bookings with ease.

The menu is extensive to say the least!

The kids both ended up choosing off the kids menu  (which had a  great selection- Chicken Goujons, Fish & chips (from Ramus), “Monster Burger” (with unicorn bread!)  Chicken Burger, Southern Fried Chicken, Pasta, Calzone & Pizza, all priced at £5.95 (Oct 2017)

They both chose the monster burgers and were absolutely thrilled with the amazing unicorn bread.

The adult menu is where the magic really happens… The donut burger is actually called the “Trump Burger” (Described in the menu as “that daft it might actually work”) There were 22 different burgers on the regular menu plus 4 specials. Not only could you order them individually, you can choose a few of your favourites and get them in a “tower” which is 2, 3, 4 or 5 burgers in a stack.

As well as the burgers, there is of course the “& More” side of the menu. To be honest I didn’t even bother looking at that. (Why would you? The Burgers are awesome!) If you do want to now about what’s on the rest of the menu, you can see them on the Burgers and More website here

Anyway, back to the Burgers, I chose a special called “Burger Wellington” which was basically beef wellington (garlic mushrooms, pastry and all) but with a burger instead of steak. It was delicious! My husband chose “Jack the Lad” which was a special impregnated with more than a dash of Jack Daniels. He assured me that it was really good although he had wolfed it down before I had the chance to try it myself!

For desert, the kids both chose the sundae which was fantastic value at £2.45 for a massive helping of Vanillis ice-cream with cream, sauce and wafers.

I was extremely impressed with Burgers & More. The staff were really friendly and the food was fantastic. It’s a real gem, an independent family friendly restaurant and I would urge you to get down there to try it for yourself.

Note- I wasn’t invited to review Burgers & More, nor did I receive any free food! I just visited with my family and was really impressed.

If any of you are interested in the Burgers & More food challenge, you can see the competitive eating legend Adam Moran, “Beard Meats Food” demolishing the 100oz twin burger challenge at Burgers & More here.

So Saturday night is take away night in our house – is anyone else finding the 3 meals at home full on?  It’s the thinking about what to have every day 3 times a day….so  this Saturday we treated ourselves to Gino’s.  There are 5 of us in our house and the kids were in their element, as were we!
We had a look at the menu and wanted to have everything!  It was hard to decide so we went for a bit of everything……….for starters we shared a massive garlic bread with cheese – it was delicious, along with some Aranchini – wow they were divine – we just had to eat them quickly before the kids grabbed them all.
The main courses were fantastic & as we were eating my hubby said ‘wow it feels like we are in a restaurant’ which it really did – everything was presented perfectly.  For mains we went for pizza’s, steak & prawns.  The pizza’s are big enough to share and the portions were generous.  The steaks were cooked to perfection and really tasty – and the Truffle Fries – oh my goodness they were good!!!  We had the Calabrian Style King Prawns – these were stunning – king prawns in a spicy sauce – it was sooooo good!!!
We were so full but wish we had ordered desert to have later!
I can honestly say this was the best take away meal we have had in lock down & I can’t wait to visit when they open their doors again.  We opted for the collection service which was great – you select a time and your food is waiting for you and everything is done in a way that adhere’s to all the safety measures.  We live about a 15 minute drive from Harrogate, but the food was so well parcelled up it was like it was fresh out the oven when we served it!
Give it a try – you won’t be disappointed!
To order go here.
Reviewed June 2020.
Disclosure: Mumbler was lucky enough to receive this for free however we pinky promised to only write a truthful account of our meal. Phew, we really enjoyed it! (otherwise that could have been awks!)

I was a bit dubious when Revolution De Cuba invited us for a family lunch as I’d always associated the place with boozy cocktails and dancing into the early hours. But how wrong was I – it turns out in the daytime it’s a really family friendly restaurant! Baby changing facilities, room for buggies and a great children’s menu – Revolution De Cuba has it all!

The first big tick is how accessible the place is! We arrived, with a pretty big buggy and a sleeping toddler and we didn’t have a single step to deal with! The place is so spacious we had no problem in manoeuvring the buggy about. There was plenty of space around the table for our buggy, a high chair and the million shopping bags we had with us. I noticed there were a few other families with buggies dining, and all had plenty of space. It was a bank holiday weekend lunchtime too – so the place was pretty packed. Its nice to go to a restaurant where they haven’t tried to fit in as many tables as possible. The extra space certainly made us feel more relaxed – even when our toddler decided to make an escape from the high chair we didn’t feel like she was disturbing any of the other diners.

We were seated at our table, given the adult and children’s menu along with an activity pack – including crayons and bubbles to keep our daughter amused. You also get a small cup of nachos to keep you going whilst you peruse the menu. Service was excellent – our waiter was Sam and he was fab – talking us through the menu and giving his recommendations. We opted for 3 tapas dishes for us adults to share as a starter – my favourite being the chorizo croquettes! My husband went for the Cuban Cheeseburger and I went for the Sunshine Salad for mains. All got the thumbs up from us! The children’s menu was £5.95 for a main, dessert and a drink. We chose the homemade chicken goujons with sweet potato fries and salad for my daughter. The portion sizes for both adult and children were just right. I also LOVED the fact they had children’s cutlery. More often then not when we dine out we usually have to deal with my 2-year-old wielding cutlery bigger than her!

Her drink – a choice of fizzy drinks or juices – came in a plastic pineapple – she loved it, and so did we. It was knocked over a few times and there were no spillages! Desserts were ice cream for the little one and chocolate cake and Churros for Mum and Dad. Wowzer – those Churros were gorgeous – and a really generous portion!

All in all, we had a fab time here, the staff were great and the food delicious – a great family friendly restaurant we’ll be sure to frequent again! Check out their Facebook page for special offers – they usually run promotions over school holidays – kids eat free etc. On last Thursday of every month they also host Boomchikkboom parties – basically parties (discos, bubbles, messy play etc.) for babies and toddler. Turns out partying at Revolution De Cuba isn’t just for the adults!

Reviewed August 2018

Disclosure: Mumbler was lucky enough to receive this lunch for free however we pinky promised to only write a truthful account of our meal. Phew, we really enjoyed it! (otherwise that could have been awks!)

Mumbler Review: Andy Annat Delivered

All for the purposes of research (of course!) tonight we have sampled a DELICIOUS delivery from @andyannat.
For myself & hubby we enjoyed a fairly spicy Thai Green Curry, Chicken with udon noodles, duck rolls & prawn toast.

The kids won’t eat anything with a kick so for them it was a yummy burger & chips.

For desert it was sticky toffee pud, banoffee pecan praline pie, vanilla cheesecake & brownie- we have no idea what these taste like as we’re all stuffed to bursting after our delicious mains (& very generous portions!) I’ll report back on flavour later!

Reporting back – the deserts were awesome!

A great choice for a take away as so many different cuisines to choose from!

To order check out there website here!

30/04/2020

Disclosure: Mumbler was lucky enough to receive this for free however we pinky promised to only write a truthful account. Phew, we really enjoyed it! (otherwise that could have been awks!)

 

 

Mumbler Review: The Harrogate Cookie Company

The Harrogate Cookie Company is the  sister company of the award winning Harrogate based deli bar Little Breads! They deliver Cookie treat boxes and cookie pizzas a to the Harrogate, Knaresborough, Wetherby & Ripon areas on a Wednesday and Friday.   They can also be posted if you live further afield.  They are delicious on their own or warm them up and add ice cream to make an indulgent dessert. The cookie treat boxes contain 4 cookies plus a tasty traybake such as a brownie, flapjack or rocky road.   The boxes start at £11 for local deliveries, a little further afield are £13.

For a full range of flavours please visit their website www.theharrogatecookieco.co.uk and keep an eye on their Facebook page too.

Our cookie treat box arrived last week to lots of excitement – all contact free.  We had three different cookies – Orange, Wispa Gold and a random flavour, and two brownies – a Mars Bar one and a ridiculously chocolatey one (i think its probably their plain flavour – but calling it plain doesn’t quite sit well!)

I’ve been reliably informed the cookies and other treats stay good for at least 7 days – if you don’t want to eat them straight away the best way to keep them fresh is to keep them in the fridge.  They are freezable too.  Anyway, none of that mattered for us as they were all gone within 2 days!!

They make a lovely gift – and at such a reasonable price – a great alternative to a Birthday Cake!  And with lockdown measures still in place I think it makes such a fab birthday gift.  A few of my friends are turning 40 over the next couple of weeks, and they’ll all be getting one of these boxes in the post!  A great local business that we can keep supporting during lockdown!

So let’s get on to the cookies.  AMAZING!  Me and my little girl started off with the Random flavour – which she re-named Rainbow flavour – covered in smarties, choc drizzles and pieces of Toblerone.  Just as a cookie should be – nice and crispy on the outside and nice a chewy in the middle.  We loved it.

Hubby felt left out that we’d inhaled the first cookie without him so off he went to get the Orange cookie.  Without tasting, I would have said this would be my least favourite flavour.  I like a chocolate orange, don’t get me wrong, but it would never be my first choice.  Anyway, I’m prepared to eat my words as fast as I ate these treats!  It was gorgeous – two slices of the juiciest orange cake on top of another bang on cookie!  A serious taste sensation!

I’m not sure how but we managed to resit temptation for the rest of the day.  But the rest of the box was demolished the next day!  11 o’clock snack time husband and I shared the Wispa Gold cookie – had it with a coffee, delish!  I’ve been reliably informed the cookies are really good warmed up with a bit of ice cream too – great on hot days like today.

We then shared the brownies between the three of us that afternoon.  It making me drool now just thinking about them.  Absolutely perfect – nice a squidgy on the inside and ridiculously rich and chocolatey.  A taste of heaven!

So if you’re looking to send some one a little gift, or just want a sweet fix yourself we couldn’t recommend The Harrogate Cookie Company enough.  The flavours are insane, the prices are really reasonable and you’ll be doing your bit and supporting a local business too!

25/05/2020

Disclosure: Mumbler was lucky enough to receive this for free however we pinky promised to only write a truthful account. Phew, we really enjoyed it! (otherwise that could have been awks!)

Mumbler reviews Gino’s with 5 kids (are we mad?)

So Harrogate Mumbler were invited along to Ginos to give our honest opinion of the Family Dining experience which unfortunately meant we had to take (all) of our Mini Mumblers with us (11 months, 5, 6, 7, & 9). Although we were treated to a complementary lunch there is no amount of pizza that would persuade us to give anything other than an totally honest review, so here goes………

We arrived at 12 (ish) and were shown upstairs to the private dining room which is very swish, lots of glass walls, the table was set for 9 in the middle but there were 2 other tables so you could probably seat up to 30 in the room. The extra tables were great for the kiddies as they could colour, play, fight(!) away from the beautifully set table we would eat at.

Our waiter, David was very helpful and didn’t mind at all that I asked for the music to be turned down (I was hopeful that the youngest would sleep….she didn’t!) and whizzed around getting drinks and handing out menus. The games room (table football & pool table) next door to the Private Dining Room was a big hit with all the kids and the glass wall between the 2 meant we could see them but not hear them…. literally my ideal parenting situation!

The starters was ‘Fantastico’ sharing board for the grown-ups, which really lived up to its name with delicious meats, olives, bread and cheeses and the kids food (pizza & pasta) came at the same time which worked very well.

Having the privacy of the room upstairs meant that the kids could play, chat and enjoy themselves without us having to worry that they were potentially annoying other diners. It felt very relaxed and we didn’t have to rush at all, especially once they discovered the (free) photobooth in the adjoining bar area!

The staff were all very tuned in to kids needs and nothing felt like too much trouble. With delicious food, and entertainment for the Mini Mumblers we had a (surprisingly) lovely time and will definitely return to Ginos…..

Ciao x

To join the rewards scheme (Club Individual) free of charge and receive a £30 Dining Gift follow this link

To take a look at the menus or book a table online please visit Ginos website

 

Mumbler Reviews: Harrogate Fisheries – OMG they do scraps!

May 2020

I haven’t had a fish and chip supper since before lockdown and I have really been craving the nostalgic meal which takes me back to past family holiday memories.

The family owned and run Harrogate Fisheries did not disappoint me.

We ordered via Deliveroo, but you can also buy your lunch/supper directly from their shop on Skipton Road, with strict distancing rules in place for queuing, ordering and waiting.

They are also offering a FREE local delivery service to the senior residents of Bilton on Tuesday, Wednesdays, Thursdays, and Saturdays between 5.00pm – 6.30pm. This can be arranged by calling 07931 596398 to place an order, make a payment and arrange delivery. What an amazing thing to do for the local community

My husband and I opted for 2 portions of their fish and chips (small size), a smoked battered sausage (to try for research purposes obviously), and a portion of fish bites for our mini-mumbler. Not forgetting a small portion of both mushy peas and curry sauce, because the more condiments the better in my opinion!

When you order on Deliveroo you can choose to add salt, vinegar & scraps, so just like when you visit the shop itself. Who doesn’t love scraps!?

It arrived quickly and was delivered safely (contact free). It comes in cardboard boxes which state they are biodegradable and microwaveable – although we did not give them chance to cool down to try that out!

The food was delicious, so fresh you could tell it was cooked to order, a real treat and the portions were great. Lovely light & crispy batter, not greasy and big chunky pieces of white flaky fish. The smoked sausage was really tasty, and I will order it all again for certain…in fact I’m getting hungry just typing this!

So, for a taste of the seaside in #lockdown without the long journey or if you fancy a treat for lunch or tea, my family and I can absolutely recommend Harrogate Fisheries for your fish and chip takeaway fix.

OPENING TIMES

Monday – Closed

Tuesday to Thursday 4.30pm to 8.00pm

Friday and Saturday 11.30am to 1.45pm / 4.30pm to 8.00pm

Sunday – Closed

Please note they are only accepting card payments.

Mumbler reviews….. Harrogate’s newest independent bars & eateries

2018 has been a great year for Harrogate and the opening of new bars and eateries. What’s especially nice to see is whilst the big high street chains can’t seem to hack the pace, we are seeing small local chains and independent food and drink places in Harrogate flourish. As it’s the time of year to eat, drink and be merry we thought we’d share with you some of our newly opened favourite places to eat and drink in Harrogate – with or without the little ones in tow.

Thug Sandwich 2a Albert Street

This list is in no particular order, but if it were this would be number one! Opening at the end of the summer this little sandwich shop is AMAZING. Owner Dan is a trained chef and boy, you can tell. I feel like he’s somehow got inside my head and made everything especially for me – and judging by his reviews online I’m not alone in thinking this. The guy is a gastronomic genius! Pretty much everything he puts in that sandwich he makes himself – and my goodness everything I’ve tried so far (which to be honest is most of the menu) is a taste sensation. And for those few things he doesn’t make he sources from local suppliers. My personal favourite is the special beef in soy and honey – just delicious. Portions are really generous, which always gets a thumbs up from me. The billionaire shortbread is to die for, my husband says it’s ruined any other caramel shortbread for him because these are so good! I love this shop, Dan has done such a brilliant job with the place – he’s so passionate about what he does and it really shines through. I’m sitting here smiling just thinking about how tasty those billionaire shortbreads are! Seriously – without a shadow of a doubt the best place to get a sandwich in Harrogate. Go check it out NOW!

I am Doner, 30 Station Parade

I am Doner opened its second premises here in Harrogate last month. I am Doner is a revolutionary kebab shop serving delicious takeaway doner kebabs, salad and rice boxes with artisan bread baked daily. They use a total of 120 ingredients in the six kebabs they make and there is nothing dirty about these kebabs! Founder Paul Baron is leading the kebab revolution after having worked in Michelin starred restaurants and been trained by top chefs. I am Doner is inspired by the kebab shops of Berlin and they’ve got it spot on. Me and hubby got a take away from here last week and it was delicious – portions were huge and the food was not only tasty but pretty damn healthy. Hubby went for the large roast chicken doner, I went for the chicken rice box and we shared a portion of the special street cart fries. All were super tasty but my favourite had to be the special street cart fries – basically a mixture of all their kebabs loaded on chips. What’s not to love! They even do a vegan kebab which I’ve heard very good things about. Another great addition to the Harrogate food scene – and definitely not a kebab shop just to visit after a night out – there are even queues at lunchtime!

Corner Haus, 28a Swan Road

Situated near the entrance to Valley Gardens this café bar has literally just opened. Inspired by trips across Northern Europe, owner Isla Birch is putting everything she loves about her trips abroad into this place. They plan to serve an alternative brunch – including waffles and some yummy tasting potatoes and cheese dishes. As well as food and really good coffee, Corner Haus also serves beer and wine! There’s easy access and plenty of space for pushchairs – the big leather sofas add to the relaxed atmosphere. It has a real Alpine Lodge feel to the place. I’m envisaging this place being really popular especially in the winter; I’m already thinking this will be an ideal place to warm up after some winter sledging in Valley Gardens. Something a little different to what’s currently on offer in Harrogate – I think this place will be a great success!

Cold Bath Brewing Co, 46 Kings Road

This place is bought to us by three local friends who shared a love for craft lager, who were so good at making the stuff that they opened their Brew lab earlier this year. It’s been a great addition to the Harrogate bar scene AND they brought the sunshine with them – what a great opening summer for them! We even managed a very unheard of date night here at the end of the summer and we loved it. Hubby can vouch that the lagers are great – he got through quite a few! The atmosphere and the bar staff were equally as great – and I can assure you if we ever get round to another date night we’ll be heading here again.

 

 

No 43 Brew Bar, 43 St. Winifreds Avenue

This is a lovely little local coffee shop in the Saints area which opened earlier this year. A small little coffee shop with a few tables and a communal bar area, this place has a really friendly and snug feel – they even have dog treats out for your four-legged friends. We took our little girl for an afternoon treat – her and hubby gave the chocolate milkshake a big thumbs up. The cakes made by the Harrogate Cake Lady looked delicious, but I opted for a scrumptious brownie, made by Brown and Blond Brownies. They also serve a selection of freshly made sandwiches and paninis, available from mid-morning. A lovely little addition to the area – already a big hit with the locals!

The Cats Pyjamas, 2-4 Albert Street

The Harrogate branch is the newest addition to this small Yorkshire chain. You might have heard they’re having a few financial issues – but that appears all to be in hand now and the Harrogate branch is definitely open for business. Indian street food served in a vibrant trendy setting. Worlds away for your typical Indian restaurants and when it’s done in this style it’s right down my street – I particularly liked the Lamb Chops and Saag Paneer. The restaurant gets extra brownie points from us for being very kiddy friendly – with a kids menu for your more adventurous children and plenty of space for high chairs and buggies. In fact, if you’re waiting on the imminent arrival of a little one the owner Alison White swears by the Pork Vindaloo to bring on labour!

There you have it – a round-up of some of our favourite new additions to the Harrogate Independent food and drink scene. And it doesn’t stop there – if you’re a fan of fish then FISK are opening their second restaurant in Harrogate this week, and if you’re a fan of donuts you’ll be pleased to know Manna Bakery are also taking over new premises. I’ve also been reliably informed that Baltzersen’s are expanding too! If you haven’t tried these places before – treat yourself as well as supporting some great local companies. As always, if you have any other recommendations you’d like to share then let us know your thoughts on our Facebook chat group!

Mumbler Reviews – Portofino Ristorante Italiano

My family and I were excited to visit Portofino. We all love Italian food and had hoped to visit in March to celebrate my son’s 3rd Birthday, but then Lockdown hit. So, when the opportunity came up to visit last week, we were overjoyed. And what a fantastic visit it was.

We were greeted at the door by lovely friendly staff and my contact details were taken – one of the many covid-19 procedures in place to keep you and other guests safe. There is a hand sanitiser station on arrival and Perspex screens up around the booths, so you feel safe in your own area, but can still enjoy the atmosphere of the restaurant.

Right, on to the food!

We had a delicious Homemade Fresh Flatbread & Olives, with garlic butter to dip into. I am not normally an olive fan, but they were delicious, so I quickly converted. It was a generous size too, so we were all able to have a decent amount each. The menu is extensive. There is plenty of choice and if you are not a huge fan of pizza or pasta, there are plenty of other dishes to choose, from steaks to burgers. There really is something for everyone.

Salmon Fetta

To start we had Salmon Fetta & Calamari Fritti. The Salmon Fetta was made up of smoked salmon, mascarpone cheese, baby prawns and a mango coulis with toasted bread to eat it on. The Calamari had a light and crispy batter and we even managed to get our mini mumbler to eat it (he is rather fussy about trying new things). Both were beautifully presented and tasted amazing.

They have a children’s menu (Bambini Menu) and it includes a choice of kids drink and ice cream. The mains are served with chips or salad & beans or peas. They can have Fish Fingers or Chicken Nuggets or Sausages or Any Pizza or Pasta. Our mini mumbler loves Pizza, so it was an easy choice for him.

I chose a dish from the speciality menu, Risotto Alla Pescatora (creamy mixed herb and garlic sauce with chicken, baby prawns and mixed peppers). They also do this dish with Linguine pasta instead. The menu itself said “You’ll regret not trying this”. It was heavenly and so light.

Risotto Alla Pescatora, Diavolo Pizza and Spaghetti Amatriciana

My husband couldn’t decide, so opted for the brilliant half pizza, half pasta. He chose the Diavolo Pizza (pepperoni, Jalapenos, parma ham, mozzarella and tomato sauce) and the Spaghetti Amatriciana (bacon, onions, mushrooms, cream & tomato). The pasta was beautiful, so tasty and fresh.

The portions are generous and if you cannot fit it all in, they will box up the leftovers for you (we took home some of the yummy pizza and enjoyed it later).

With regards to value for money, I think it is excellent. They have a Happy Hour Two Course Offer and are also taking part in the Eat Out to Help Out Scheme.

The service was excellent, very quick and with staff checking on us throughout the meal, always friendly and eager to help. The restaurant itself had a lovely relaxed atmosphere and you felt safe and at ease. I am already planning my next visit….

 

Portofino Ristorante Italiano

2-4 Albert Street, Harrogate, HG1 1JG

01423 507700

portofinoharrogate@hotmail.com

Opening Hours

Monday – Saturday

11:30 AM – 10:00 PM

Sunday

11:30 AM – 09:00 PM

 

Reviewed: July 2020

Disclosure: Mumbler was lucky enough to receive this for free however we pinky promised to only write a truthful account of our meal. Phew, we really enjoyed it! (otherwise that could have been awks!)

Mumbler Reviews: Thug Sandwich

May 2020

The best news hubby and I heard all lockdown was that Thug Sandwich was re-opening!  We’d had to self isolate before official lockdown due to our daughter having a temperature, so we weren’t able to get our fix before Dan shut up shop.   There was talk of a delivery service – but I totally get why this didn’t happen.  If you’re a regular Thugger you’ll know Dan does not cut corners on anything – and I guess with a delivery service he’d have had to.  So I’m glad he waited, because his sandwiches are in my opinion a taste of heaven, and it was so worth the wait – they were, as always bang on!

I’m a big sandwich fan, and Thug have somehow gotten into my brain and taken everything I love and put it in a sandwich.  Everything is either home made or locally sourced.  The quality of everything is unreal.  The portions are huge and the prices are really really reasonable!

If you’re after something brunch-esq, a usual cheese and ham or something a special you will not be disappointed!  We went for our absolute favourites – Soy Beef special and the KFCaesar. 10/10.  The Soy Beef is my absolute all time favourite – mouth wateringly good.  They sell a range of non sandwich items too – salads, brownies and their pretty incredible lamb fingers to name a few.

There are are socially distancing rules in place, and you can even call in your order before hand.   Thug Sandwich has been a great addition to the Harrogate food scene.  But now more than ever you need to go and try these sandwiches.  His usual foot fall has gone, no more people in the local offices, shops or even the gym opposite.   But for everyone now working from home – take your lunch hour and head down there.  If you usually treat yourself to a take away at the weekend – try this for lunch in brunch instead.   Or, if you’re off out for a family picnic – fill your boots here first!

So get out there – support a brilliant local business and do your tastebuds a massive favour.  Oh and they’re coffee is pretty awesome too!

Open Mon-Fri 9am-3pm, Sat 10am-3pm. Thug Sandwich.

I didn’t choose the thug live, the thug live chose me.

 

New in 2019 Independent Bars and Eateries in Harrogate

I wrote this blog last year, and its fast becoming my favourite thing to write about!  Its so wonderful to see that it’s been another great year for new independent bars and eateries opening in Harrogate.  We’ve put together a list of some of our favourite that have opened this year.  Most are child friendly – but we’ve added a few that would be ideal for those precious evenings or lunchtimes you have without your mini-mumblers!

Doe

If you haven’t heard of Doe then where have you been hiding!  This colourful addition to Bower Street opened earlier this year and its fab!  Its a donut shop – like no other!  An Instagramer’s dream – everything is colourful, fun and delicious!  They taste as good as they look.  With the menu changing daily you can often find me drooling over their latest creations posted on Instagram.  A great treat for all the family.

District

As soon as a moved to Harrogate, I’ve said to anyone who would listen we need more small cocktail venues.  Seems like someone was listening and along came District to Cold Bath Road.  They do some killer cocktails, as well as great coffee and delicious pizzas.  We’ve been in the daytime with our little one before, and a few friends and had a very enjoyable boozy afternoon in the Snug.  We just need to get a babysitter booked now and check it out on a night out!

Farmhouse

This place definitely gets my vote for newcomer of the year!  It took me ages to finally get round to trying this place out, but my goodness I’ve made up for it since!  As a family, this is our go to restaurant, we all love it!  In fact, whenever we’re in town my three year old asks if we’re going to Farmhouse.   The kids menu is great, the adults menu is even better!  Such a huge selection and everything I’ve tried so far (if we’re being honest then its most of the menu!) has been ridiculously good.  The cookie skillet is AMAZING!  Its a great location, really reasonably priced, brilliant staff and fab decor.  You could easily have a whole NCT class reunion in here with no pram parking issues!   We had Harrogate Mumbler Christmas party here this year and it was fab!  If you’re thinking of opening a local, independent restaurant, get down here and see how its done properly.   In fact, Farmhouse if you’re reading this and need any one to test any new dishes I’d happily volunteer!

Little Breads @ The Hydro

A firm favourite on the Kings Road, Little Breads opened in the Hydro earlier this year.  I must admit I got a little worried when I turned up one Sunday morning for our family swim session and noticed the cafe was no longer there.  But a few weeks later, Little Breads arrived and I had my first (of many) rocky roads…wowzers they’re good from here!  Just what you need after a long swim.  They did really well at the Mumbler awards this year – and rightly so!  A great place for all the family.

Harrogate Brunch Club

If you’re a fan of pancakes then head down here!  A big favourite for the American community living in Harrogate.  It seems to be Harrogate’s secret gem – sorry guys but not any more!  A fab place for a lazy Sunday brunch with all the family.

Portofino

Opening earlier this month Portofino is a welcome addition to Albert Street.  Sandwiched between two of the big high street Italian chains its great to see this place is always busy!  I haven’t been there yet, but I obviously perused the menu extensively and it all sounds delicious.  In fact when I was reading the menu on their door, I caught the eye of a customer tucking into a HUGE bowl of pasta who gave me a big smile and thumbs up!   Definitely one to try in 2020.

Not quite new to the scene – but worth a mention anyway!  Hoxton North have now starting serving food on a Friday and Saturday evening and i have to say the menu looks amazing.   A great little date place.  The lovely Mrs Smith’ s Cafe also opened their fabulous little outdoor area this summer.  And finally, technically this place opened at the end of 2018 but still worth a mention – Domo on Montpelier Street is the place to go if you want some ridiculously good Japanese cuisine!

So get out there Mumblers, support these brilliant local independents – eat, drink and be merry!